Overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out.

�� Arthur C. Clarke, "The Nine Billion Names of God" ��






My chapbook, The Language of Exile, is available from Main Street Rag. I like to trade chapbooks. I want yours. I want it now ....

ME ME ME
who the heck
write me now, ok

READINGS
paste
league of steam
world of steam
sf signal
geek girl con
bookriot
fanpop
strange horizons
flavorwire
sethtv
arts & letters news
fempop
new york times
metafilter
TWoP
film freak central
passionate moviegoer
second life
sl universe
city of lost angels
playing as being
language log
boing boing
fark
whedonesque
fandumb
the root
the washington post
the morning news
literary mama
new yorker
public radio fan
u.k. leguin
ain't it cool news
lost in transit
words without borders
the village voice
the daily camera
salon
slate
unknown news
slashdot
girl wonder
poetry today
verse daily
visible earth
language corner
reality blurred
sweetwave audio
videosift
mcsweeney's
the burning chair
the atlantic
wired
the guardian
die zeit
ny review of books
whedonesque
adbusters
bitch
slayage dot com
psi phi
theforce.net
rebel scum
e! online
ew
defamer
witchvox
stern
faz dot net
craftster
yes! weekly
voyforums
lighthouse writers
tattered cover
boulder bookstore
poetry west
from the fishhouse
intergalactic medshow
postsecret
translators' cafe
identity theory
colorado poets center
eastgate systems
internet poets co-op
dark planet
snopes
tom paine
media life
hermenaut
eurozine
the page
here comes everybody
prof. barnhardt's journal
grand text auto
whoosh
the delta blues
1000 journals
altered books
retrocrush
gawker
american folk
asl browser
skatingforums
skating on tv
fs universe

2005-09-20, 11:13 a.m.:
RIP, Simon Wiesenthal: truth-teller, witness extraordinaire, humanitarian action hero, architect turned obsessive. The world needs more people like the man you were.

(Jonathan Lethem has a Macarthur? Wow.)

0 comments

2005-09-19, 1:20 a.m.:
Also. Seven things I want to do before I die:

1. Visit Japan, walk the temple pilgrimages, "100 views of Edo" and all that. Visit Iceland, Morocco, China, Krakow, St. Petersburg. And, nearly most of all, Antarctica. I want to do this incredible (academic, learning) cruise in Antarctic waters which costs something like $10,000 per person. I don't know why exactly I want to do this when there is always Alaska and the like, but it seems absolutely crucial, a la "Island at the Top of the World" (or bottom, in this case).

2. Get good enough at kendo to enter a tournament. Learn enough Japanese to be able to talk about kendo in Japanese (and not just count to 20).

3. Go skating with one or both of my boys. Learn to skate well enough myself that I can stroke quickly and surely backwards, do a 3-turn, back crossovers, maybe even a walley and a waltz jump. And spins, of course. That would be the ultimate.

4. Have a wedding. Wear a wedding dress (something ridiculously goth-ish from Jeannie Nitro). Drink champagne and be toasted to and toast to a happy, healthful future as a family. Take black-and-white pictures of the entire ridiculously blow-out day.

5. Publish a book of poems, an entire book that is no longer an old frayed teddy bear that keeps cannibalizing old and new poems alike. Something new, something better. The thing I can be proud of flipping through page after page. The thing that moves on into a place I never would have imagined.

6. Be a good mother, and not a bad mother. Be a better partner. Work out my anger issues, my passive-aggressiveness, my emotional fakery. Be a little less socially anxious, at least to the extent that I can be functional in a handful of representative social functions. I can't survive like this, being both geographically isolated AND emotionally, socially so. Something must break.

7. Learn to sew. And then sew things. Learn to make weird crafty ridiculously fannish objects of desire (obscure ones, even) like Star Wars or Grateful Dead quilts, shrines of cheesy garish cheap scifi paperback cover art, altered books, diaramas, embroidered Yodas and transfer designs. I also want to learn some carpentry - how to make bookshelves and a table.

8. Drink vodkas at that frozen Absolut ice bar (everything - glasses, bar, seats - made from solid ice) I saw on "The Amazing Race."

9. Write poems, and poem-like things and weird little in-between artifacts, that I like better and better. Enjoy the process of everything more. Love the processs, the processes, the doings of it all, the footwork and the dirty work, the First Things, the undoneness of most everything out there, the tiny fissure in the perfect glazed vase.

10. Be happy, lastingly

11. Retire to the shore

12. Be able to speak French and not just read it, learn (speak) Italian, some Japanese and Chinese, be able to read Old English again as I once could. Silly things like know all the names of all the sumo techniques and be able to call the figure skating jumps before the skater is in the air and in spite of false calls from the commentators.

13. The 3,000 or so books I need to read in order to be just moderately well read. The poems, new and old. Will I ever really read The Faerie Queen? The Divine Comedy? The Decameron? The 19th century novel? Chaucer? And to think I wasted two weeks of my life on the fucking Corrections.

14. I knew there would be more than 10. At least i have given up wanting to perform a cartwheel before I die ... I can die quite happily without now, my dear.

0 comments

2005-09-18, 6:04 p.m.:
I got one of those nice rejections. Full and total rejection, but with the handwritten note "Please try us again." (Cimarron Review) This tops the to date nicest rejection I ever got, from Chattahoochee: "Good stuff."

If it was that good, you'd think, they could have printed it.

Anyway, I am taking care of business to get my chapbook published: get "author photo" taken (as opposed to regular old "Melissa photo"), artwork for the cover,** hoping to switch out one poem I've decided I hate, hopefully have some of these poems appear in journals before then or right around then (the impossible dream, nay?). Only two have so far. This year is the first I've ever actually sent work out, and now I'm doing it with a vengeance. I have been sitting on some of these poems for years.

Looks like it will all come together in December, available from Main Street Rag (they're out of Charlotte). So get those Christmas lists going. Uncle Mort is just itching for a copy of The Language of Exile.

** Wish to god I could do some digital art. I can picture my cover exactly as I want it in my mind's eye. But I have no skills. Zilcho. Zilchetto. Zilchettissimo.

(But maybe I could manage it somehow in collage form, as a basis for the real deal undertaken by someone with an actual artistic clue, i.e. an artist-type person?)

((My first day back online since The Dreadful Cold of Aught Five. Three days of migraine, five days of fever, three days totally bedridden and sleeping round the clock with Baby Ro at my side (still sick, poor small baby. His brother was over a year old when he got sick the first time; Ro is just 12 weeks). 20,000 boxes of kleenex and 6 Nebuchadnezzars of cough syrup. 800,000 self-pitying moments, five spent crying at my reflection in the bathroom mirror, two incidents in which I regretted not having "taken many brisk walks as a young woman," as had Miss Marple - secret to her general fine health and spry state.))

0 comments

2005-09-09, 1:47 p.m.:
Five Days with Katrina. The only (real) way to view the album is one pic at a time, in order. Amazing. (Via MetaFilter)

0 comments

2005-09-07, 4:14 p.m.:
In other news: It's all illness (various colds and, on A's part, croup) and all Hurricane Katrina all the time here. As the news from nearly every place but here is appalling. Too sick to read poetry, if that can believed. We have watched "Monsters, Inc." 1,000,000 times and I have been slowly, deliberately mining an old issue of GRANTA ("The Factory"). The more slowly one reads GRANTA, the more one comes to appreciate it.

0 comments

2005-09-07, 3:34 p.m.:
Mikey, my old boss, has just sent me an e-mail in English:

A new world for me, wild west in far east, founder-days capitalism in red disguise (talking about his recent trip to China.)

I will do the favor of back-translating it to the original German that was in his head:

F�r mich eine neue Welt, "Wilder Westen" im Fernen Osten, Gr�nderzeit-Kapitalismus im roten Kleid.

0 comments

2005-09-03, 9:44 a.m.:
We knew it was coming.

Personally, I blame the cold, cold universe.

(Someone posted a great quote in a Katrina-related thread on MetaFilter, something to the effect of God being an unnecessary complication in an otherwise elegant universe, and I like this too.)

0 comments

< before this * after this >







The vault of old things


POEMS
left facing bird
half drunk muse
the duplications
'exile' poems


BLAWGS
foz meadows
tricia sullivan
mojoyeah
blame the patriarchy
trhwoj
feministe
fempop
lighthouse blog
blogher
cherie priest
john scalzi
everything2
annoying actor friend
five trick pony
katherine lumsdon
juan cole
translationista
intellectual poison
daily kos
little professor
chazz writes
stuck in a book
steve silberman
the readers
feminist majority
torrent freak
every ... musicals
about translation
raising weg
gary canavan
clay matthews
3quarksdaily
acs blog
never mind ...
dilbert blog
woodblock dreams
john k stuff
david byrne
planet quaker
hotel @nywhere
stain on silence
oberlin blogs
maud newton
neil gaiman
dave's theater blog
felicia day
tapeflags
stormsongs
swrp galactic news
love german books
jacob clifton
twisted spork
scoplaw
antenna
largehearted boy
geoff pullum
danny gregory
french lit translators
joe meyers
dispositio
oblivio
silliman's blog
bluishorange
ted chiang(ology)
sf awards watch
catherine caffeinated
insane uncontrolled
destroyed or damaged
nathan bramsford
sam j. miller
everything is nice
jacob's ladder
lit windowpane
bookshop
dreadful acres
isola di rifiuti
maggie stiefvater
letters of note
shakesville
wax wroth
stupid motivational tricks
almost i rushed ...
stick poet superhero
lorca loca
poesy galore
the raving queen
ideal wife giveaway/a>
sarah's adventures
sturgeon's law
travels w/ toni
katysblog
alison stine
occasional fish
unruly servant
eyeball hatred
westerblog
dulcetly
making light
accommodatingly
the old hag
rhapsodic
reading experience
raccoon
warren ellis
after words
a little pregnant
tobias buckell
the elegant variation
martociquala
elizabeth bear
big fat blog
maple & quill