Overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out.

�� Arthur C. Clarke, "The Nine Billion Names of God" ��






My chapbook, The Language of Exile, is available from Main Street Rag. I like to trade chapbooks. I want yours. I want it now ....

ME ME ME
who the heck
write me now, ok

READINGS
paste
league of steam
world of steam
sf signal
geek girl con
bookriot
fanpop
strange horizons
flavorwire
sethtv
arts & letters news
fempop
new york times
metafilter
TWoP
film freak central
passionate moviegoer
second life
sl universe
city of lost angels
playing as being
language log
boing boing
fark
whedonesque
fandumb
the root
the washington post
the morning news
literary mama
new yorker
public radio fan
u.k. leguin
ain't it cool news
lost in transit
words without borders
the village voice
the daily camera
salon
slate
unknown news
slashdot
girl wonder
poetry today
verse daily
visible earth
language corner
reality blurred
sweetwave audio
videosift
mcsweeney's
the burning chair
the atlantic
wired
the guardian
die zeit
ny review of books
whedonesque
adbusters
bitch
slayage dot com
psi phi
theforce.net
rebel scum
e! online
ew
defamer
witchvox
stern
faz dot net
craftster
yes! weekly
voyforums
lighthouse writers
tattered cover
boulder bookstore
poetry west
from the fishhouse
intergalactic medshow
postsecret
translators' cafe
identity theory
colorado poets center
eastgate systems
internet poets co-op
dark planet
snopes
tom paine
media life
hermenaut
eurozine
the page
here comes everybody
prof. barnhardt's journal
grand text auto
whoosh
the delta blues
1000 journals
altered books
retrocrush
gawker
american folk
asl browser
skatingforums
skating on tv
fs universe

2005-11-09, 5:02 p.m.:
Notes to self:

Bryan Dietrich's Superman poems in Krypton Nights, Linda Gregerson, Penelope Fitzgerald The Blue Flower, Kamau Brathwaite of Barbados, Joyelle McSweeney.

Also: The sure thing is not that sure. And the unlikely event may be likelier than you think.

0 comments

2005-11-08, 11:31 p.m.:
Town Preacher Marquee Dept. (our first installment)

It's the church just down the hill. Not sure what denomination. A low, rust-red mountain building, much like the St. Mary's down near the res and the P.O. Anyway, he has a marquee out front, just like a movie marquee. But more of a podunk marquee - like, not much taller than a man. And he puts out a different "gospell" on it each week. (I imagine him lying in bed late night, giggling to himself as a particularly cunning little gem comes to him.) Sometimes they're so long, you have to slow waaaayy down in your car to take in the whole thing. Or you only get it in the course of multiple drive-bys.

Halloween week's was: Heaven is no trick and Hell is no treat.

A few weeks before that:

Lord, help me become the person my dog thinks I am.

(Dogs and religion. Check. Yeah, it's a mountain town.)

0 comments

2005-11-07, 12:23 p.m.:
My baby can sit up now. This changes everything.

Somehow yesterday I got myself embroiled in NaNoWriMo. What the hell, you ask. Because I'm not a fiction writer. And it's a week into the thing - only 22 days and change left. But. Let me tell you. I have decided to write my novel in verse this month. I am sure there will be much of the suckage in what I do produce. I'm shooting for 20 poems in these 22+ days (and haven't really sat down to figure out if that's too many or too few. It will depend on my cast of characters). But the point is: When else will this get done? This thing is not doing itself. I have noticed. So I'm considering the usual NaNoWriMo word counts as not applicable to me. They're not. This isn't The Illiad, after all.

On top of the poem output, I've allocated 30-60 minutes a day to my research/parallel reading (because this is my 17th century gig here). I can't afford more than that. I haven't got those hours in the day. Well, I would if I forswore the Internet. But the Internet being my demon lover, I would never do that.

0 comments

2005-11-06, 11:40 p.m.:
All this weekend it was windy and freezing and ridiculous. It was too cold even for ghosts.

0 comments

2005-11-03, 4:13 p.m.:
One new poem today. Still, the vacation continues. No revising. No looking at old things. Once again, the entire household sick. So we watch Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith in the middle of the day (we are very bad parents, yes), Att on a pallet on the floor, me drinking tea and furtively downing Reese's Peanut Butter Cups (from Halloween; we keep them in the liquor cabinet with the other dangerous substances) in the kitchen when no one's looking. We had one thousand errands but we cancelled them all. I sniff. I quaff tea. I chomp Reese's. I read snatches from The Red Bird (Joyelle McSweeney) and Voices from Chernobyl (the one book I will tell everyone this year they MUST read). I have my family here. I am thinking: I will sell all my lunchboxes and collect '50s toy robots instead. I am thinking: It's OK to feel sentimental in your head. I am thinking: Life is good.

0 comments

< before this * after this >







The vault of old things


POEMS
left facing bird
half drunk muse
the duplications
'exile' poems


BLAWGS
foz meadows
tricia sullivan
mojoyeah
blame the patriarchy
trhwoj
feministe
fempop
lighthouse blog
blogher
cherie priest
john scalzi
everything2
annoying actor friend
five trick pony
katherine lumsdon
juan cole
translationista
intellectual poison
daily kos
little professor
chazz writes
stuck in a book
steve silberman
the readers
feminist majority
torrent freak
every ... musicals
about translation
raising weg
gary canavan
clay matthews
3quarksdaily
acs blog
never mind ...
dilbert blog
woodblock dreams
john k stuff
david byrne
planet quaker
hotel @nywhere
stain on silence
oberlin blogs
maud newton
neil gaiman
dave's theater blog
felicia day
tapeflags
stormsongs
swrp galactic news
love german books
jacob clifton
twisted spork
scoplaw
antenna
largehearted boy
geoff pullum
danny gregory
french lit translators
joe meyers
dispositio
oblivio
silliman's blog
bluishorange
ted chiang(ology)
sf awards watch
catherine caffeinated
insane uncontrolled
destroyed or damaged
nathan bramsford
sam j. miller
everything is nice
jacob's ladder
lit windowpane
bookshop
dreadful acres
isola di rifiuti
maggie stiefvater
letters of note
shakesville
wax wroth
stupid motivational tricks
almost i rushed ...
stick poet superhero
lorca loca
poesy galore
the raving queen
ideal wife giveaway/a>
sarah's adventures
sturgeon's law
travels w/ toni
katysblog
alison stine
occasional fish
unruly servant
eyeball hatred
westerblog
dulcetly
making light
accommodatingly
the old hag
rhapsodic
reading experience
raccoon
warren ellis
after words
a little pregnant
tobias buckell
the elegant variation
martociquala
elizabeth bear
big fat blog
maple & quill