Overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out.

�� Arthur C. Clarke, "The Nine Billion Names of God" ��






My chapbook, The Language of Exile, is available from Main Street Rag. I like to trade chapbooks. I want yours. I want it now ....

ME ME ME
who the heck
write me now, ok

READINGS
paste
league of steam
world of steam
sf signal
geek girl con
bookriot
fanpop
strange horizons
flavorwire
sethtv
arts & letters news
fempop
new york times
metafilter
TWoP
film freak central
passionate moviegoer
second life
sl universe
city of lost angels
playing as being
language log
boing boing
fark
whedonesque
fandumb
the root
the washington post
the morning news
literary mama
new yorker
public radio fan
u.k. leguin
ain't it cool news
lost in transit
words without borders
the village voice
the daily camera
salon
slate
unknown news
slashdot
girl wonder
poetry today
verse daily
visible earth
language corner
reality blurred
sweetwave audio
videosift
mcsweeney's
the burning chair
the atlantic
wired
the guardian
die zeit
ny review of books
whedonesque
adbusters
bitch
slayage dot com
psi phi
theforce.net
rebel scum
e! online
ew
defamer
witchvox
stern
faz dot net
craftster
yes! weekly
voyforums
lighthouse writers
tattered cover
boulder bookstore
poetry west
from the fishhouse
intergalactic medshow
postsecret
translators' cafe
identity theory
colorado poets center
eastgate systems
internet poets co-op
dark planet
snopes
tom paine
media life
hermenaut
eurozine
the page
here comes everybody
prof. barnhardt's journal
grand text auto
whoosh
the delta blues
1000 journals
altered books
retrocrush
gawker
american folk
asl browser
skatingforums
skating on tv
fs universe

2008-07-24, 1:28 a.m.:
On a much much much much lighter note ...

... this blog comes up 4th on the Google search for "Honky tonk girl chapbook."

I think you'll be with me on this when I say that ain't nothin to sneeze at. It's the pewter medal, after all. And the world do need more chapbooks of the honky tonk girlicious variety. I think we can all agree.

0 comments

2008-07-23, 8:25 p.m.:
On the bald street breaks the blank day.

0 comments

2008-07-16, 12:54 p.m.:
What is it with frakkin' Keira Knightley? FIrst she pollutes the role of beloved Elizabeth Bennet, now I find out she has done the same to Lara of Dr. Zhivago fame (in a miniseries version). No no no no. At least she was more or less palatable in Atonement (which I saw against my better judgment, due to having much liked the book and much hated the marketing hype in advance of the movie .. it just did not seem that the marketers/moviemakers understood what the story was actually about, and THAT worried me). She was just fine. I had few hopes or cares for her character as it was, and I suppose that is just how it should be.

On a related note, we went on a date (TO ESCAPE FROM OUR DAILY HOURLY CONSTANT MOURNFUL CONFUSED GRIEVING HELL for a just a few blissfully forgetful, senses-overloaded hours in a big dark loud theatre with nasty popcorn and huge cold-sweating waxy soft drink cups), and the plan was to see a double feature, with Hellboy being the heart of that. As the whole world may or may not know, Hellboy is my favorite comic. I don't know if I can say he's my favorite hero/anti-hero, because I also have this thing for the Dark Knight and for obscure Jedi from the Knights of the Old Republic era, and it's hard not to just be all sweet on Spiderman, isn't it? And of course there's Wolverine and Jean Grey. And Enid in Ghost World.

But my point is, I'd rather read a Hellboy comic than any other. I love Joss Whedon's X-Men wanderings, and I love that Buffy season 8 is taking place in comic book form, and I love everything in the Batman mythology. But more in theory. Hellboy the real deal.

But Ironman was only playing once, at 6:15, and so we made that and planned to catch Hellboy right after. But then never did make to Hellboy, got off track, time passed. And Ironman? Oh, the hype. The many many months of hype. And I'm sure it was just a fine movie, maybe a fantastically made movie, an enjoyable movie, but I didn't enjoy it. At this point, after all these months and months of encomium, I guess I couldn't help but expect some sort of Citizen Cane.

This is all frivolous and trivial. The truth is, we're grieving and we're just getting by. Peter's mom died two weeks ago. I could be doing a better job, but I'm trying to give myself a little bit of a break. Just get through.

2 comments

2008-06-25, 6:39 p.m.:
"Contrary to the rumors I have been trying to spread for some time, Disney Princess products are not contaminated with lead. More careful analysis shows that the entire product line--books, DVDs, ball gowns, necklaces, toy cell phones, toothbrush holders, T-shirts, lunch boxes, backpacks, wallpaper, sheets, stickers etc.--is saturated with a particularly potent time-release form of the date rape drug."

(from Barbara Ehrenrich's "Bonfire of the Disney Princesses" in The Nation online)

I love a first paragraph that packs a punch mere milliseconds before you are about to flick your eyes down the page.

Sometimes I thank my ugly little household gods that my dealings with the core of the "Disney princesses" (Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White ... and, uh, Aurora, Pocahontas, Jasmine and Anastasia?) are minimal because of having boys, not girls. It means much less rot to compensate for on my part. Luckily, Mulan, Ariel and Belle (my favorites, in that order, and to my mind the least objectionable three) are the only popular ones in this household. And Dora. Dora reigns supreme! (She's the resident 3-year-old's favorite.) I haven't the heart to break it to him that she has now also purportedly become a princess. It's a disease, a pink one, that's evidently catching.

0 comments

2008-06-24, 8:31 p.m.:
It's been a good week for links. I just found the Feministing blog, which has provided hours of blissful/outraged reading for me lately (OK, today) (former because this is a rich site to mine, latter because the of the rampant misogynism in our society so handily punctuated by the stories brought to this blog).

This page of the Top 10 anti-feminist clips on the net is just perfect for riling an old girl up.

0 comments

2008-06-23, 11:41 p.m.:
Oh yes. The door to hell.

0 comments

< before this * after this >







The vault of old things


POEMS
left facing bird
half drunk muse
the duplications
'exile' poems


BLAWGS
foz meadows
tricia sullivan
mojoyeah
blame the patriarchy
trhwoj
feministe
fempop
lighthouse blog
blogher
cherie priest
john scalzi
everything2
annoying actor friend
five trick pony
katherine lumsdon
juan cole
translationista
intellectual poison
daily kos
little professor
chazz writes
stuck in a book
steve silberman
the readers
feminist majority
torrent freak
every ... musicals
about translation
raising weg
gary canavan
clay matthews
3quarksdaily
acs blog
never mind ...
dilbert blog
woodblock dreams
john k stuff
david byrne
planet quaker
hotel @nywhere
stain on silence
oberlin blogs
maud newton
neil gaiman
dave's theater blog
felicia day
tapeflags
stormsongs
swrp galactic news
love german books
jacob clifton
twisted spork
scoplaw
antenna
largehearted boy
geoff pullum
danny gregory
french lit translators
joe meyers
dispositio
oblivio
silliman's blog
bluishorange
ted chiang(ology)
sf awards watch
catherine caffeinated
insane uncontrolled
destroyed or damaged
nathan bramsford
sam j. miller
everything is nice
jacob's ladder
lit windowpane
bookshop
dreadful acres
isola di rifiuti
maggie stiefvater
letters of note
shakesville
wax wroth
stupid motivational tricks
almost i rushed ...
stick poet superhero
lorca loca
poesy galore
the raving queen
ideal wife giveaway/a>
sarah's adventures
sturgeon's law
travels w/ toni
katysblog
alison stine
occasional fish
unruly servant
eyeball hatred
westerblog
dulcetly
making light
accommodatingly
the old hag
rhapsodic
reading experience
raccoon
warren ellis
after words
a little pregnant
tobias buckell
the elegant variation
martociquala
elizabeth bear
big fat blog
maple & quill