Overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out.

�� Arthur C. Clarke, "The Nine Billion Names of God" ��






My chapbook, The Language of Exile, is available from Main Street Rag. I like to trade chapbooks. I want yours. I want it now ....

ME ME ME
who the heck
write me now, ok

READINGS
paste
league of steam
world of steam
sf signal
geek girl con
bookriot
fanpop
strange horizons
flavorwire
sethtv
arts & letters news
fempop
new york times
metafilter
TWoP
film freak central
passionate moviegoer
second life
sl universe
city of lost angels
playing as being
language log
boing boing
fark
whedonesque
fandumb
the root
the washington post
the morning news
literary mama
new yorker
public radio fan
u.k. leguin
ain't it cool news
lost in transit
words without borders
the village voice
the daily camera
salon
slate
unknown news
slashdot
girl wonder
poetry today
verse daily
visible earth
language corner
reality blurred
sweetwave audio
videosift
mcsweeney's
the burning chair
the atlantic
wired
the guardian
die zeit
ny review of books
whedonesque
adbusters
bitch
slayage dot com
psi phi
theforce.net
rebel scum
e! online
ew
defamer
witchvox
stern
faz dot net
craftster
yes! weekly
voyforums
lighthouse writers
tattered cover
boulder bookstore
poetry west
from the fishhouse
intergalactic medshow
postsecret
translators' cafe
identity theory
colorado poets center
eastgate systems
internet poets co-op
dark planet
snopes
tom paine
media life
hermenaut
eurozine
the page
here comes everybody
prof. barnhardt's journal
grand text auto
whoosh
the delta blues
1000 journals
altered books
retrocrush
gawker
american folk
asl browser
skatingforums
skating on tv
fs universe

2008-03-24, 1:50 a.m.:
On Easter Sunday I woke up worried that I had forgotten both The Ice Storm and All That Jazz, but really I had just forgotten the latter ... and one other movie which presently still eludes me.

The List.

Then we hunted down Easter eggs (pastel/Spiderman theme this year) and played with 'Floam' and these sort of velcro-ey ball-catch mitts and balls that are so perfect for boys without the dexterity to catch stuff yet. There was shrieking and begging for more candy all along the way. I watched the rest of Worlds (skating) on TV, in which my absolute no. 1 male skater, Jeffrey Buttle, won gold and my absolute no. 2 fav male skater, Johnny Weir, won bronze. One of my least favorite skaters won silver, but oh well.

All of Saturday, or nearly all, I spent at the Met HD performance of Tristan and Isolde, eating Milk Duds and drinking god-bless'd Starbucks coffee they sell right there in the movie theatre. Last week I saw Peter Grimes in the same live HD dealio. Both times with Gini. I love Benjamin Britten and decided I dislike the story of Tristan and Isolde, much preferring the Arthurian version. Mainly because the entire tragic epic love thing is caused by a love potion - a plot device, a construct. So it did not resonate emotionally with me at all. In the story of Guinevere, Arthur, Lancelot, it's innate, it's inexorable. And so much the more tragic as an entire kingdom, a kingdom of ideas, is lost. In T&I, mainly just lives are lost.

Also feeling more conflicted than usual about the odious Wagner family, having recently been reading more in detail about his vicious anti-Semitism and his family's close, close ties with Hitler (godfather to his son). Ugh. I remember loving Parsifal, however, back in the day.

The rest of Saturday I spent reading and thinking about Hamlet.

Ah damn. I forgot Amelie, too. The list gets longer by the day. I haven't even seen Sweeney Todd yet. You know which way that is going to go.


0 comments

2008-03-21, 10:29 a.m.:
I *AM* writing, I'm just not very happy about it. And no one else seems to be either. I do have circa 30 poems in various states of doneness, however, and all in a uniform state of rejectedness.I am extremely, extremely down on submitting, the whole game. It's been since December 2005 that I was accepted anywhere. And yesterday, looking at a page of chapbook places, I felt nearly physically ill. I am annoyed with all of it. I did write a poem, a passable poem that I even like, in about 70 minutes recently to submit to a contest whose deadline was that night at midnight (this was a Second Life thing). And I had to upload a passable matching photo. Looking back over the poem, I only changed a couple of small things. Was happy with it, was thinking of Donald Revell talking about his 'poems of the moment.' (He does next to no editing after the fact.) Got excited. Wanted to write more.

But instead of that, I am deep in the trenches of editing again, which is of course always what gets me downtrodden once more. I don't want to edit - I want to write and have it stick. Maybe I just suck at editing. Because spending three and four years editing a single poem(s) and still not getting it right ... well, that seems counter-efficient. I'm doing something wrong. I've fallen and I can't get up!

0 comments

2008-03-14, 12:12 p.m.:
My 77 favorite movies (I couldn't make the list any shorter, though I tried. I tried!):

1. Fanny and Alexander
2. The Royal Tenenbaums
3. Blade Runner
4. An Angel at My Table
5. My Brilliant Career
6. Brazil
7. Das Boot
8. Gosford Park
9. Annie Hall
10. Star Wars / The Empire Strikes Back
11. Hannah and Her Sisters
12. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
13. Wings of Desire
14. Paris, Texas
15. The Ice Storm
16. Persuasion
17. Apollo 13
18. Europa Europa
19. Cinema Paradiso
20. Coal Miner�s Daughter
21. Starship Troopers
22. Logan�s Run
23. To Kill a Mockingbird
24. This Is Spinal Tap
25. Waiting for Guffman
26. Harold and Maude
27. The Flight of the Phoenix
28. Raiders of the Lost Ark
29. The Princess Bride
30. Taxi Driver
31. Sleepy Hollow
32. Edward Scissorhands
33. Fight Club
34. Sense and Sensibility
35. Revenge of the Sith
36. Raise the Red Lantern
37. My Favorite Concubine
38. Smoke
39. Best in Show
40. Withnail and I
41. Swingers
42. Free Enterprise
43. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
44. Four Weddings and a Funeral
45. Fitzcarraldo
46. Aguirre: The Wrath of God
47. Jean de Florette / Manon des Sources
48. The Seven Samurai
49. Enter the Dragon
50. Heavenly Creatures
51. Jude
52. Pandora�s Box
53. Queen Margo
54. A Room with a View
55. Howard�s End
56. Impromptu
57. Marie Antoinette
58. Apocalypse Now Redux
59. Pelle the Conqueror
60. Marathon Man
61. Lord of the Rings / The Two Towers
62. Alien / Aliens
63. Muriel�s Wedding
64. Radio Days
65. Crimes and Misdemeanors
66. Batman Begins
67. M.A.S.H.
68. The Shining
69. Sophie�s Choice
70. The Deer Hunter
71. Far From the Madding Crowd
72. The Player
73. American Psycho
74. Kramer vs. Kramer
75. The Vanishing (original)
76. Working Girl
77. Ran

78. Tootsie

I suppose there are more than 77, and I know I grouped some by the same director but not others ... but then again, no list is perfect. I originally made the list last week and incredibly left off An Angel at My Table, which is one of my absolute favorite fillms

And THEN, this week, I saw My Brilliant Career for the first time. I don't know how I avoided seeing this movie, which was just made for me to love and admire, for nearly 30 years. The young Sam Neill was super-cute in his ever-bumbling way. I guess the optimum word for the characters he plays best would be "feckless."

0 comments

< before this * after this >







The vault of old things


POEMS
left facing bird
half drunk muse
the duplications
'exile' poems


BLAWGS
foz meadows
tricia sullivan
mojoyeah
blame the patriarchy
trhwoj
feministe
fempop
lighthouse blog
blogher
cherie priest
john scalzi
everything2
annoying actor friend
five trick pony
katherine lumsdon
juan cole
translationista
intellectual poison
daily kos
little professor
chazz writes
stuck in a book
steve silberman
the readers
feminist majority
torrent freak
every ... musicals
about translation
raising weg
gary canavan
clay matthews
3quarksdaily
acs blog
never mind ...
dilbert blog
woodblock dreams
john k stuff
david byrne
planet quaker
hotel @nywhere
stain on silence
oberlin blogs
maud newton
neil gaiman
dave's theater blog
felicia day
tapeflags
stormsongs
swrp galactic news
love german books
jacob clifton
twisted spork
scoplaw
antenna
largehearted boy
geoff pullum
danny gregory
french lit translators
joe meyers
dispositio
oblivio
silliman's blog
bluishorange
ted chiang(ology)
sf awards watch
catherine caffeinated
insane uncontrolled
destroyed or damaged
nathan bramsford
sam j. miller
everything is nice
jacob's ladder
lit windowpane
bookshop
dreadful acres
isola di rifiuti
maggie stiefvater
letters of note
shakesville
wax wroth
stupid motivational tricks
almost i rushed ...
stick poet superhero
lorca loca
poesy galore
the raving queen
ideal wife giveaway/a>
sarah's adventures
sturgeon's law
travels w/ toni
katysblog
alison stine
occasional fish
unruly servant
eyeball hatred
westerblog
dulcetly
making light
accommodatingly
the old hag
rhapsodic
reading experience
raccoon
warren ellis
after words
a little pregnant
tobias buckell
the elegant variation
martociquala
elizabeth bear
big fat blog
maple & quill